July 4, 2019 12:00 AMCategory: Uncategorized

Iowa Hawkeyes men’s basketball

The Iowa Hawkeyes men’s basketball team Reflects the University of Iowa at Iowa City, Iowa, as a member of the Big Ten Conference and the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

Coach Fran McCaffery is the current head coach, and was at Iowa since 2010.
The Hawkeyes have played 26 NCAA Tournaments, eight NIT Tournaments, won eight Big Ten regular-season conference championships and won the Big Ten championship double. Iowa has played at the Final Four on three events, reaching the semifinals in 1955 and 1980 and playing in the championship game against the University of San Francisco in 1956.
Iowa basketball was widely successful in the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s with a schedule resurgence under Lute Olson and the tenures of George Raveling and Tom Davis. Beneath Olson, the Hawkeyes won their final Big Ten regular season championship and went to the 1980 Final Four.
They currently play in 15,400-seat Carver-Hawkeye Arena, together with Iowa women’s wrestling, basketball, and volleyball teams.
Prior to playing Carver-Hawkeye Arena, which started in 1983,[6] that the Hawkeyes played in the Iowa Armory and the Iowa Field House, which is still utilized today by the institution’s gymnastics teams. Before losing to in-state rival Northern Iowa, in 2006, the Hawkeyes gathered a school-record 21 wins at home.
Four Iowa coaches have been inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame: Sam Barry, Ralph Miller, Lute Olson and George Raveling.

Read more: usavallblacks.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *